Directional Dreams

Dreams are awesome!  I never paid much attention to them until I had a life-changing dream–or night vision?–several years ago.  I saw the phrase “Kindle & Kindness” lit up against a dark background.  The letters were large and outlined in tiny white lights like the  title of a film on the marquee of a theater.  But the letters were not typed.  They were written in cursive.

Wondering what the phrase meant, I “googled” it.   Nothing definitive came up.  A few weeks later, I tried a different search engine and found a Website with the phrase “Kindle & Kindness.”  Up to that point, I don’t think I knew what a Kindle device was.  I had seen the  icon on Amazon off to the side while looking for other items.

English: The second generation Amazon Kindle, ...

English: The second generation Amazon Kindle, showing the book Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My unpublished novel was gathering dust.  So I took the dream to mean that I should publish it on Kindle.  I bought a Kindle and consulted Joshua Tallent of e Book Architects.  His group formatted the book for me so that I could upload it on Kindle and Nook.

For a while, I was more focused on the book than the dream or where it came from,  That was a mistake.  The real story is about a closer relationship with God.  My interest in dreams led me to John Paul Jackson’s Website.  John Paul Jackson is a Christian dream interpreter.  His insights have given me a deeper, Biblical-based understanding of dreams and visions.

I knew that dreams and visions are in the Bible, but I never thought of them as having significance today.  John Paul Jackson points to Job 33: 14-16.  “Indeed God speaks once, or twice, yet no one notices it.  In a dream, a vision of the night when sound sleep falls on men, while they slumber on their beds, then He opens the ears of men and seals their instructions” (NASB).

Not every dream comes from God.  That’s for sure.  Dreams fall into different categories and come from different sources: the flesh, the mind, God, and the demonic realm.  While dreams are one of the ways that God speaks to us, He speaks primarily through His Word.  If you think God has spoken to you in a dream, make sure that the dream doesn’t conflict with the Bible.  God will never direct you to something that contradicts His Word.

A relationship with God through Jesus Christ is more important than anything in the world.  Books, inventions, and projects will come and go, but a personal relationship with the God of the universe lasts forever.

10 thoughts on “Directional Dreams

  1. msinop1

    Awesome! You were listening to that still small voice that comes from the Lord. It is so exciting when you take a leap of faith, by listening to Him speak and realize it was HIM. I have had a few personal experiences with God through dreams, and when I follow and obey, it is amazing to see the work He is doing <3 God Bless you~

    Reply
  2. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum

    Often it’s a still small voice, but that particular dream was like a sledge hammer. It literally woke me up. I’ve had some exciting dreams since then, but nothing quite like that one. I’m learning that obedience is everything. I have a tendency to go ahead of God instead of waiting on Him; and when I do, I fall flat on my face. Thank you so much for your encouraging comments. By the way, I enjoy reading your blog. It is profound! God Bless you.

    Reply
  3. Michelline N. Hall | Seven20 Photography

    This entry is amazing and inspirational. I agree 100% with your ideology on dreams and the importance of having a relationship with Christ. :-) I’m so happy that God has blessed you with an amazing gift and direction to display it. I’m going to share your story with my husband tonight!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Family That Bathes Together Stays Together | Delight Thyself in the LORD

  5. al2

    I happened across your blog doing research on google – but you might be interested to know one of John Paul’s courses, “The Art of Hearing God”, will be hosted next week in Vienna, VA. I’ll be teaching it as a Streams Ministries-certified teacher Let me know if you are interested!
    And.. great post! Thank you!

    Reply
      1. al2

        It is Thursday night, 7-9 PM, Friday from 9 AM – 9 PM and Saturday from 9 AM – 9 PM.

        You can find more details here: https://www.facebook.com/events/696851733678450/

        I do this at churches as invited, so there could be other opportunities for you to take this in Northern VA at another time. It’s a great class and I love teaching it!

        Registration link is here: https://squareup.com/market/anton-luse/registration-the-art-of-hearing-god You can also sign up and pay at the door.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

