“Dreaming” Up Fiction

Lion - Louisville Zoo

Lion – Louisville Zoo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: A photograph promoting the film The W...

English: A photograph promoting the film The Wild One depicts actor Marlon Brando. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What do you do when you can’t think of a story to write?  Consider your dreams. Dreams are stranger than fiction, and mine are no exception.  Some could be turned into short stories.  Others are so weird they are hard to relate much less explain.

For example, last week I dreamed that Marlon Brando (who looked a bit like Tom Selleck) was sitting in a big oven and a small lion with a mane was sitting behind him.  Neither seemed uncomfortable.  The door to the oven was open, so I asked Marlon Brando for his address.  Then a lime-green, five-pointed star flashed in front of me and I woke up.  Try turning that into a short story!

I always keep pen and paper by the bedside, so that when I wake up, I can record my dream before I forget it.  I try to recall if the dream was  in black and white, sepia, full color, or partial color.  Who was in the dream?  What was the theme?  Then I choose a title.

To find a title for my Marlon Brando dream, I’ll take a cue from C.S. Lewis and “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.”  I’ll call it “The Lion, the Actor, the Oven, and the Lime-Green Star.”  How’s that for originality?

To learn all about dreams, consider John Paul Jackson’s CD “Understanding Dreams & Visions” and his weekly TV/Internet program “Dreams & Mysteries.”  John Paul Jackson is a Christian dream interpreter whose insights are priceless.

2 thoughts on ““Dreaming” Up Fiction

  1. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum Post author

    You’re right. In reality, there’s absolutely no resemblance between Marlon Brando and Selleck. But, for some reason, Brando looked like Selleck in the dream. I can’t explain it. I’m learning to interpret my dreams, but this one has me stumped.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

