ABIGAIL: The Literary Cat

Do earth-born animals go to heaven when they die?  I would like to think so, but I can’t find a single verse to support it.  Regardless, some appear to have a spiritual side.

I have four feral cats, but only one of them has a Biblical name:  Abigail (I Samuel 25: 23-42).  Actually, I did not give her a Biblical name deliberately.  As a feral kitten, she lived in the parking lot of a shopping center and hid in the bushes near Boston Market.  I caught her but didn’t know what to call her.  Someone said, “Name her Abigail after Abigail Adams from Boston since you found her near Boston Market.”  I nicknamed her “Abby.”  She answers to either name with a slight twitch of her ear–then returns to napping or making mischief.  (She has a passive-aggressive personality, which is why I’m the only adult that likes her.)

She loves computers and books.  Although she cannot read, Abby edits my work, and I have newsletters (published before I caught her typos) to prove it.  Spiritual or not, Abigail always ends up near–or on top of–the number one best-seller.

AbbySittingBible

Abigail

8 thoughts on “ABIGAIL: The Literary Cat

  1. yeshuaplusme

    I really like this! Your Abby reminds me of my own cat. His name’s Finnick, he too likes to read the bible. Every time I’m reading from the Bible he comes and listens in. He especially likes the stories about Jesus! :”))))

    Reply
    1. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum Post author

      Finnick sounds highly intelligent. I should try reading the Bible out loud to see if Abby listens. Thanks for the idea. I hadn’t thought of it. Finnick is a cute name. He must be a “finicky” cat. Blessings to you and Finnick!

      Reply
  2. not so annoymouse

    Ibsee she studies the Word. Smart cat. CS Lewis saidsme animals would be in heaven sue to their association with their owners…. I like that.

    Reply
    1. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum

      I like that too, “not so annoymouse.” I hope C.S. is right! If he is, a lot of critters will be in the crowd that meets me at the pearly gates. Which book, by the way? “Mere Christianity?”

      Reply
    1. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum Post author

      Indeed, cats are a blessing. I have four, all of them rescues. A thought just occured to me. Maybe their “leaning on the Word” is a metaphor. Blessings to you. I am enjoying your posts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

