Bluebird Behavior Reminiscent of “The Birds”

 

I know this if off the subject, but I’ve observed the strangest phenomena today.  A male blue bird has stationed himself upon my kitchen window sill.  He has been there all afternoon.  I put raisins and strawberries on the window sill thinking that maybe he was hungry.  He doesn’t seem interested in the food at all.  I can almost walk right up to the window and talk to him, and he cocks his head as if listening.  Now and then he flies at the window.  Can anyone explain this bird’s behavior?    

8 thoughts on “Bluebird Behavior Reminiscent of “The Birds”

  1. Jim Wright

    We have observed similar behavior with cowbirds but not bluebirds. We thought the bird had fallen under the spell of its reflection in the window, but whether this was because he (or she) viewed this other bird as a threat or an object of affection we couldn’t decide.

    Reply
    1. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum Post author

      You are the second person today who has mentioned the bird’s reflection in the window as being a draw. I think the bird is an egotist, and not without reason. He is a brilliant shade of blue. Apparently, he’s not the only one who thinks that he is a good catch. I saw him just now with a female bluebird on the branch by the window.

      Someone else proposed that he is defending his territory. That’s a possibility. I have a number of bluebird boxes in my yard. Also, bluebirds like to nest in the purple martin house at the end of my dock. (Sadly, the purple martins admire the box but move on. I have yet to see a purple martin build a nest in that box, but the barn swallows like it.)

      As for cowbirds, I have not seen many of them in my yard. And no wonder. I’ve read that cowbirds don’t make nests. Instead, they lay eggs in other birds’ nests hoping that the potential surrogates will be gullible enough to hatch and raise the little imposters.

      Reply
  2. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum

    Bluebird Update: I woke up this morning and two bluebirds–male and female–were sitting together on my window sill. The female was aggressively flying at the window. I took the advice of a friend and taped pictures of two black hawks on the windows (the birds move from one window to the next in the bay-window area). The “hawks” did not deter the bluebirds. I have photos of the birds perched in front of and beside the hawks. Now my indoor cats (even the blind cat) are in on the action. This distresses the birds more than the hawks. I just took another look at the window. The birds are perched there again, even though the cat is on the table in front of the window. These birds are either fearless, mentally challenged, or mentally disturbed.

    Reply
  3. Linda Dare Wright Kettelhut

    “A birdie with a yellow bill
    Hoped upon the window sill,
    Cocked his shining eye and said:
    ‘Ain’t you ‘shamed, you sleepy-‘head?”
    Robert Louis Stevenson > A Child’s Garden of Verses and Underwoods > This book was given to Linda on her eighth birthday by Elizabeth “Bunky” Spottswood Oglesby.

    Reply
  4. Rick Kettelhut

    The reappearance of the Blue Bird is a welcome sign of spring.
    Five little bluebirds, hopping by my door
    One went to build a nest, and then there were four.
    Four little bluebirds singing lustily
    One got out of tune, and then there were three
    Three little bluebirds, and what should one do,
    But go in search of dinner, leaving only two.
    Two little bluebirds singing just for fun
    One flew away, and then there was one.
    One little bluebird sitting in the sun
    He took a little nap, and then there was none.
    – Children’s Nursery Rhyme

    Reply

Leave a Reply

